For a better experience on Caribbean Utilities Company,  update your browser.

One of CUC's oldest existing photographs from 1969 depicts delivery of one of the original generating units installed by the Company. A 1,080 kilowatt Ruston Hornsby arrives at the George Town Dock and is being readied for its journey to the North Sound Road Power Plant. Discussing the transportation of the unit to its new home are (from left, in front of the truck) the late Bernard Julier, Operations Manager; the late Pedro Echenique (with cap), Line Superintendent; the late Otis Jackson, Deputy Chief Engineer; and Selbert 'Bert' Jackson, Chief Engineer.


About the Company

Caribbean Utilities Company, Ltd., known locally as "CUC", commenced operations as the only public electric utility in Grand Cayman, the largest of the three Cayman Islands, on May 10, 1966. The Company currently has an installed generating capacity of 166 megawatts (MW), and a record peak load of 113.742 MW was experienced on June 19, 2023. Our over 230 employees are committed to providing a safe and reliable electricity supply to over 33,000 customers. CUC has been through many challenging and exciting periods but has kept pace with Grand Cayman's rapid development for over 57 years. We are considered one of the most reliable and efficient power companies in the Caribbean.


About Grand Cayman

The Cayman Islands, a United Kingdom Overseas Territory with an approximate population of approximately 58,000, are comprised of three islands: Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. Located about 150 miles south of Cuba, 460 miles south of Miami and 167 miles northwest of Jamaica, the largest island is Grand Cayman with an area of 76 square miles.

The islands, discovered by Christopher Columbus during his fourth and final voyage in 1503, were originally named "Las Tortugas" for their large turtle population. The islands later became known as "Cayman", representing the Carib word for crocodiles, a large number of which existed at the time.

A Governor, presently Her Excellency Mrs. Jane Owen, is appointed by His Majesty the King. A democratic society, the Cayman Islands have a Legislative Assembly comprised of representatives elected from each of Grand Cayman's five districts as well as two representatives from the Sister Islands of Cayman Brac and Little Cayman.